The second-tier Currie Cup First Division was won in 2019 by the Jaguares XV from Argentina, who went through the season unbeaten. Other teams taking part in this competition in 2019 are the 2018 champions, the SWD Eagles from George, the East Rand-based Valke, Down Touch Griffons (Welkom), Boland Cavaliers (Wellington), EP Elephants (Port Elizabeth), Border Bulldogs (East London), Leopards (Potchefstroom) and the Jaguares XV from Argentina, who will also use Potchefstroom as base this season.

The history

The Currie Cup - in recent years sponsored by DirectAxis Financial Services - is one of the oldest rugby competitions in the world, with the first games played in 1889, but it was only in 1892 that it became officially known as the Currie Cup. The original participating unions were Western Province, Griqualand West, Transvaal and Eastern Province. The first tournament was held in Kimberley and was won by Western Province.

The Currie Cup trophy was donated to South Africa in 1891 by the touring British Isles team - it was given to the tourists by Sir Donald Currie, owner of Union-Castle Lines, the shipping company that transported them to the southern tip of Africa.

Sir Donald was clear with his instructions – hand this trophy over to the team in South Africa that gives you the best game. After a spirited display where the unbeaten British Lions narrowly won 3-0, Griqualand West became the first ever holders of the Currie Cup. They then handed the trophy over to the South African rugby board and it became the floating trophy for the Currie Cup competition.

There are currently no fixtures available.


24 Aug |HT Pelatona Projects Stadium


62 - 31

Eastern Province

24 Aug |Fanie Du Toit Sports Ground

Jaguares XV

37 - 29


30 Aug |Fanie Du Toit Sports Ground

Jaguares XV

27 - 13